It is currently Fri Oct 18, 2019 11:17 pm


All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:32 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:17 pm
Posts: 13
I've been a Chaotica user for almost two years -- love it and I love the advances with version 2. Awesome work.

I do, however, keep encountering a bug that's driving me insane. I hope I can explain it properly and I hope this is the right place to post this.

I mostly do animations. Frequently I'll have a nice animation set up, with several a few transformations changing value over time. All is well....and then I hit Undo just once...... and it erases almost all of my animation settings. For example, I may have a y=0, x=90.......to y=360, x=450 on three different transforms. I make a bunch of other random adjustments, but the moment I hit undo on a completely unrelated adjustment, my settings turn to y=0, x=0 and no animation at all.

Secondly, and it's totally related...
Often I will set up an animation sequence -- maybe just some rotations over time or something. I will save the world, but the animation isn't saved at all. Just like above, often my settings (simple or complex) will just reset to some useless value. The .chaos file I saved shows the time length and the fps, but none of the transformations over time are saved.

When working on an animation, especially a long one, I just have to keep Chaotica open while I'm designing and all the way through the rendering process (which can be days) and pray that my computer doesn't shut down or reboot for some reason.

I would love to make a video showing this issue, but I'm rendering right now and don't dare interrupt until it's done because I will have lost hours of work because I can't save the files.

I'm very familiar with the animation editor and how it works. It's a huge step over earlier versions. My above issues aren't because I don't get the editor. It's actually something else weird going on :)

Oh...and as a side note for a recommendation for any new version.... Please allow the licensing to somehow allow me to temporarily install Chaotica on a render farm computer so I can render stuff in hours rather than days :)


Top
Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 4:54 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 1:51 pm
Posts: 80
Hi,
Looks like undo on the anim editor is a bit broken. Will fix :)


Top
Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 9:27 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:17 pm
Posts: 13
Nick wrote:
Hi,
Looks like undo on the anim editor is a bit broken. Will fix :)



Thanks!! Will this also fix the issue of saving and retaining the animation settings? That's probably a bigger issue. Even if the undo isn't working well, at least a good saved copy (saved frequently) can rescue hours of work when things go awry :)


Top
Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2019 2:14 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 1:51 pm
Posts: 80
Ok this stuff should be fixed in 2.0.16: https://www.chaoticafractals.com/node/1 ... f=2&t=3054

Let me know if it's not.

Thanks for the reports!


Top
Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:56 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:17 pm
Posts: 13
Thanks...downloading now


Top
Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:47 am 

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:17 pm
Posts: 13
Seems to be working perfectly now -- thanks!!!


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net